The Mayor and the City Commissioners are elected at-large, with the City Commission designated by seat numbers. Both the Mayor and the City Commission are elected for 4-year terms. Elections are every 2 years (odd number years) with staggered terms. The Mayor and 1 Commission seat are elected at 1 election and the remaining 3 Commissioners elected at the next election. Both the Mayor and the Commission may be re-elected subsequently.

The Mayor presides at meetings of the Commission, but shall have no administrative duties except as required to carry out the responsibilities herein. The Commission elects from among its members a Vice-Mayor. This election is done annually at the 1st regular Commission meeting in April. The Vice-Mayor shall act as Mayor during the absence or disability of the Mayor.

All elections shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the general election laws of the State of Florida, except as is otherwise provide by City Charter or by Ordinance. Procedures for becoming a candidate are found in our City Charter, Article VI beginning with Section 26.

Upcoming Election

View a list of those who have filed the necessary items for the March 14, 2023 City of Miramar Municipal Election. 

City of Miramar Map of Election Precincts (PDF) 
MiramarPollingStationLocations2022 Opens in new window

Voter Registration & Information
Voter registration is handled through the Broward County Supervisor of Elections. Any inquires you may have, please visit their website or call them at 954-357-7050.

Supervisor of Elections Branch Office
Miramar Branch Library 

2050 Civic Center Place

Miramar, FL  33025

Hours of Operation:  Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. except holidays.